Oct 27, 2020  
2014-15 Academic Catalog 
    
2014-15 Academic Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Sports and Entertainment Management - SEMT.AS


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Programs

The Sports and Entertainment Management option provides students with a solid foundation in business and management concepts. In addition, students acquire specific knowledge about the sports and entertainment industries. Through case studies, team assignments, guest speakers, and internships students learn to apply management theories to specific problems and opportunities in the sports and entertainment fields.

This program begins the preparation for students to pursue a variety of positions in areas such as: collegiate and professional athletics, tennis, golf, athletic facilities, tournaments entertainment venues, the sporting goods industry, and hotels/resorts and casinos

Upon the successful completion of requirements for this program, the degree of Associate in Science in Business Administration - Management will be awarded.

Business Administration - Sports and Entertainment Management Program Goals


  1. Have the skills needed to develop ideas and make decisions based on proper research, analysis, and critical thinking.
  2. Understand the environment in which businesses operate including the major economic factors, legal requirements, ethical, and social forces.
  3. Understand the key actions taken to effectively and efficiently utilize company resources to achieve goals.
  4. Understand the actions taken to acquire and retain customers; produce goods and services; and measure/track financial performance.
  5. Understand the career opportunities available in the Sports and Entertainment Industry by learning the necessary principals including management, marketing, law, finance, and ethics as related to the management and operations of various components of the Sports and Entertainment Industry.
  6. Communicate effectively, both orally and in writing.
  7. Conduct research from a variety of sources.
  8. Demonstrate computer literacy.

(SEMT.AS) Curriculum


Total: 15 credits


Total: 16 credits


Notes:


  1. Math Recommendation: During semesters 1 and 2, students are advised to take two of the following three math courses: MATH-122  Applied Mathematics 1 or MATH-157  Calculus for Bus, Life and Social Sciences 1 or MATH-142  Statistics. In semester 2 students may also consider taking a humanities or a social science course.

Total: 16 credits


Select one:


Total: 15 credits


Total (SEMT.AS) Curriculum Program Credits: 62


Notes:


  1. If student takes SEMT-491  they must take a Business Department elective in semester 4. This will bring the program total credits to 62.
  2. Any 300 or 400 level Business Department course.

Department Personnel


Name Title Office Phone Email
Christine Atwater Assistant Professor 2/229 413-755-4602 cratwater@stcc.edu
Rhoda Belemjian Professor / Tri-Chair 02/233 413-755-5706 rbelemjian@stcc.edu
Ann Gervais Professor 02/232 413-755-5705 apgervais@stcc.edu
William Herd Adjunct Faculty 02/220 413-755-4066 bherd@stcc.edu
Gail Olmsted Professor / Tri-Chair 02/236 413-755-5751 golmsted@stcc.edu
Bob Rodgers Adjunct Faculty 02/230 413-755-4130 brodgers@stcc.edu
Anthony Rondinelli Assistant Professor 02/229 413-755-4316 arondinelli@stcc.edu
Diane Sabato Associate Professor 02/229 413-755-4836 dsabato@stcc.edu
Paul Thornton Professor / Tri-Chair 02/213A 413-755-5223 pthornton@stcc.edu

 

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Programs