Apr 19, 2024  
2023-24 Academic Catalog 
    
2023-24 Academic Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

CNC Operations - CNCO.COC


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: School of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

The CNC certificate is designed to provide students with basic operation and control of modern computer numerical control machinery. The CNC certificate prepares the student for an entry-level position in manufacturing companies in the greater Springfield–Hartford area. This certificate can be completed in one year (two semesters), however; it must be started in the fall semester.

Students are instructed in CNC programming, machine set-up, and operation of a CNC mill and lathe. Advanced programming is included for multi-axis machining. Students also learn the integration of solid models from CAD with CAM to obtain a fundamental understanding of how to proceed from the design stage to manufacturing.

Students may obtain CNC operator positions in companies who products include (but are not limited to) aerospace components, medical devices, laser cutting and welding, and consumer products.

Upon successful completion of the requirements of the program a Certificate of Completion in CNC Operations from STCC will be awarded.

(CNCO.COC) Curriculum


Program Personnel


Name Title Office Phone Email
Gary Mullet Professor/Department Chair 17/635 413-755-4600 GMullett@stcc.edu
Thomas Minor Associate Professor/Coordinator 111/116F

413-755-6139

tominor@stcc.edu
Lineisha Dominicci-Rosario Assistant Professor/Coordinator 111/116B 413-755-4602 LMRosario@stcc.edu
Steven Sinkwich Assistant Professor 111/116A 413-755-4714 SJSinkwich@stcc.edu
Joseph Sommers Assistant Professor 111/116C 413-755-6142 JSommers2101@stcc.edu
Alexander Lozada Instructor 111/116B 413-755-4611 AJLozada0001@stcc.edu
Matthew Goebel Laboratory Technician II 111/108 413-755-6131 MRGoebel0001@stcc.edu

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: School of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics