Feb 25, 2024  
2023-24 Academic Catalog 
    
2023-24 Academic Catalog

Biology Transfer - BIOL.AS


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Programs

Biology is the branch of science dealing with the study of living organisms. It is concerned with the characteristics, classification and behavior of organisms, how species came into existence, and the interactions they have with each other and the natural environment.

Springfield Technical Community College offers several biology transfer programs from which its graduates are well-qualified to enter the junior year of a biology major, pre-med major, pre-vet major, pre-dental major, or a pharmacy major. Students are advised by biology faculty members who will guide them in course selections to meet the requirements of the various colleges and universities to which the students may apply.

Students interested in pursuing higher education in the field of biology should follow the prescribed curriculum below. This curriculum meets the requirements for the MassTransfer A2B Pathway in Biology. Students who cannot meet all the requirements for the degree of Engineering and Science Transfer may consider the option of an Associate degree in General Studies, while pursuing the goal of transferring to a four-year college to continue studies in the biological sciences.

Upon the successful completion of requirements for this program, the degree of Associate in Science in Engineering and Science Transfer will be awarded.

Program Goals


Graduates of this program:

  1. Are qualified to transfer to a 4-year engineering or science-based curriculum.
  2. Are prepared to complete their Baccalaureate Degree in two additional years.
  3. Have developed critical thinking skills.
  4. Have developed mathematical methods of problem-solving.
  5. Can communicate effectively, both orally and in writing.
  6. Can conduct research from a variety of sources.
  7. Are computer literate.

(BIOL.AS) Curriculum


Total: 14 credits


Total (BIOL.AS) Curriculum Program Credits: 60


Notes:


  1. Biology majors transferring to UMass, who did not take 4 years of a foreign language in high school, should consider taking two semesters of a foreign language as a humanities elective.
  2. The following courses will not satisfy the major requirements: BIO-101/101L, BIO-102/102L, and BIO-103.

Program Personnel


Name Title Office Phone Email
Holly Brinkmann Associate Professor 02/529 413-755-5209 HBrinkmann@stcc.edu
Austin Burt Professor 02/525 413-755-4671 atburt@stcc.edu
Gail Foss Laboratory Technician II 02/522 413-755-5334 gfoss@stcc.edu
Natalie Brewer Laboratory Technician II 02/522 413-755-4659 nebrewer@stcc.edu
Joseph Maciaszek Professor/Department Chair 02/532 413-755-4717 jwmaciaszek@stcc.edu
Kenneth Petit Professor 02/528 413-755-4589 kepetit@stcc.edu
Brandon Poe Professor 02/531 413-755-4590 bhpoe@stcc.edu
Lisa Rapp Professor 02/533 413-755-5254 lrapp@stcc.edu
Monica Strzempko Professor 02/530 413-755-5605 mstrzempko@stcc.edu
Kelson Ettienne-Modeste Associate Professor 02/515 413-755-4615 kjettienn-modeste@stcc.edu
Reena Randhir Associate Professor 02/527 413-755-4618 rrandhir@stcc.edu

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Programs