Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content
    Springfield Technical Community College
   
 
  Oct 17, 2017
 
 
    
2017-18 Academic Catalog

Marketing - MRKT.AS


Return to Academic Programs Return to: Academic Programs

In recent years, marketing has become an increasingly important activity within our society and, in particular, in New England where there is a growing emphasis on the providing of services. Marketing is a broad field which includes defining and creating a market for a product, gauging and meeting customer wants and needs, advertising, sales, retailing, fashion and merchandising and related areas. Essentially, the study of marketing relates to the performance of business activities that direct the flow of goods and services from producers to consumers.

Upon the successful completion of the requirements for this program, the degree of Associate in Science in Business Administration - Marketing will be awarded.

Program Goals


The Business Administration-Marketing major will produce graduates who:

  1. Have the skills needed to develop ideas and make decisions based on proper research, analysis, and critical thinking.
  2. Understand the environment in which businesses operate including the major economic factors, legal requirements, ethical, and social forces.
  3. Understand the key actions taken to effectively and efficiently utilize company resources to achieve goals.
  4. Understand the actions taken to acquire and retain customers; produce goods and services; and measure/track financial performance.
  5. Understand the objective of marketing: building profitable customer relationships through understanding customer needs and wants and how market strategies are developed, utilizing the elements of the marketing mix- product, price, place and promotion.
  6. Communicate effectively, both orally and in writing.
  7. Conduct research from a variety

Core Business Curriculum


Total: 16 credits


Total: 16-17 credits


Total Core Business Curriculum Program Credits: 32-33


Notes:


  1. Math Recommendation: Students are advised to take MAT-127  Calculus for Bus.
  2. Humanities electives include art, college theater, foreign languages, music, speech, philosophy, and literature. Social science electives include history, political science, sociology, psychology, and economics.

(MRKT.AS) Curriculum


Semester 4


Total (MRKT.AS) Curriculum Program Credits: 62-63


Notes:


  1. Any 200 level Business Department course.

Department Personnel


Name Title Office Phone Email
Christina Atwater Assistant Professor 2/229 413-755-4062 cratwater@stcc.edu
Rhoda Belemjian Professor 02/233 413-755-5706 rbelemjian@stcc.edu
Ann Gervais Professor/Co-Chair 02/232 413-755-5705 apgervais@stcc.edu
William Herd Adjunct Faculty 02/220 413-755-4066 bherd@stcc.edu
Gail Olmsted Professor/Co-Chair 02/213A 413-755-5751 golmsted@stcc.edu
Bob Rodgers Adjunct Faculty 02/230 413-755-4130 brodgers@stcc.edu
Anthony Rondinelli Assistant Professor 02/229 413-755-4316 arondinelli@stcc.edu
Diane Sabato Professor 02/229 413-755-4836 dsabato@stcc.edu
Paul Thornton Professor 02/236 413-755-5223 pthornton@stcc.edu

 

Return to Academic Programs Return to: Academic Programs