Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content
    Springfield Technical Community College
   
 
  Dec 11, 2017
 
 
    
2017-18 Academic Catalog

Computer Systems Engineering Tech - CSET.COC


Return to Academic Programs Return to: Academic Programs

This program prepares the student for an entry-level position in the computer and networking fields. Students gain skills in computer hardware, operating systems installation and configuration, network protocols, and Cisco networking equipment. Students may enter program in the Spring or the Fall. Students who enter in the Spring can take the first two semesters of Cisco Networking. The Cisco courses are taught using the official Cisco curriculum. This course sequence may be used to rapidly begin a career in the computer and networking field or as a technical refresher for seasoned computer professionals.

(CSET.COC) Curriculum


ELGRP - Elective-CSE, ELE, LEO, TCM 6 credits


 Student must take two college level courses, minimum of 3 credits each, from the following subjects: Computer Systems Engineering Technology  (CSE), Electronic Systems Engineering Technology  (ELE), Laser Electro Optics Technology  (LEO) or Telecommunications Technology  (TCM).

Notes:


Notes:

  • CSE 240 : Students with Windows desktop experience entering the Certificate program in the Spring can take CSE-240/240L. Contact the department chair or the faculty teaching the course if more information is desired.
  • Most classes with labs are 4 credits total. There are some 3 credit classes. Depending on the selection of courses the total number of credits for each student may vary slightly.
  • We can make adjustments to better fit the student’s background and educational goals. Contact the department chair for advice in course selection.

Total (CSET.COC) Curriculum Program Credits: 27


Department Personnel


Name Title Office Phone Email
Edward Bigos Professor/Department Co-Chair 17/637 413-755-4544 bigos@stcc.edu
Nicholas Bishop Electronic Technical II 17/613 413-755-4577

NRBishop@stcc.edu

Andrew Collins Instructor 17/637 413-755-4578 ajcollins@stcc.edu
Jeffrey Cooper Assistant Professor 17/631 413-755-4578 jlcooper@stcc.edu
Rick Jagodowski Professor / Electrical Engineering Tech. Dept. Chair 20/120 413-755-4594 jagodowski@stcc.edu
Nicholas Massa Professor 17/637 413-755-4579 massa@stcc.edu
Gary Mullett Professor/Department Co-Chair 17/635 413-755-4600 gmullett@stcc.edu
Eliano Soares Staff Assistant 17/219 413-755-4593 esoares@stcc.edu
Peter Vangel Professor 17/637 413-755-4665 vangel@stcc.edu

Return to Academic Programs Return to: Academic Programs