Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content
    Springfield Technical Community College
   
 
  Oct 17, 2017
 
 
    
2015-16 Academic Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Entrepreneurship - ENTM.AS


Return to Academic Programs Return to: Academic Programs

Starting a new small business? Whether students complete the entire program requirement leading to degree status or simply take selected courses to satisfy an immediate need, the program gives students an awareness of the unique demands placed upon today’s small businesses and their owners.

Note: Some of the core (semester 1 and 2) courses in this option differ from those of the other majors within the Business Administration department. Entrepreneurship courses are only offered once a year in the semester indicated (semesters 1 & 3 are fall, 2 & 4 are spring). Many courses have prerequisites that students should take into consideration when they plan course schedules.

Entrepreneurship Program Goals


  1. Have the skills needed to develop ideas and make decisions based on proper research, analysis, and critical thinking.
  2. Understand the environment in which businesses operate including the major economic factors, legal requirements, ethical, and social forces.
  3. Understand the key actions taken to effectively and efficiently utilize company resources to achieve goals.
  4. Understand the actions taken to acquire and retain customers; produce goods and services; and measure/track financial performance.
  5. Understand the entrepreneurial process from idea generation to the development of a business plan through to the launch of a new business venture and are knowledgeable of the risks inherent in and the discipline required to consider entrepreneurship as a viable career option.
  6. Communicate effectively, both orally and in writing.
  7. Conduct research from a variety of sources.
  8. Demonstrate computer literacy.

(ENTM.AS) Curriculum


Total (ENTM.AS) Curriculum Program Credits: 61


Total: 15 credits


Total: 15 credits


Total: 15 credits


Notes:


  1. Math Recommendation: Students are advised to take MAT-122  Applied Math 1 or MAT-127  Calculus for Business.
  2. Humanities electives include art, college theater, foreign languages, music, speech, philosophy, and literature. Social science electives include history, political science, sociology, psychology, and economics.
  3. Any 200 level business department elective will satisfy this requirement. Consult with your advisor.

Department Personnel


Name Title Office Phone Email
Christine Atwater Assistant Professor 2/229 413-755-4602 cratwater@stcc.edu
Rhoda Belemjian Professor / Tri-Chair 02/233 413-755-5706 rbelemjian@stcc.edu
Ann Gervais Professor/Tri-Chair 02/232 413-755-5705 apgervais@stcc.edu
William Herd Adjunct Faculty 02/220 413-755-4066 bherd@stcc.edu
Gail Olmsted Professor 02/236 413-755-5751 golmsted@stcc.edu
Bob Rodgers Adjunct Faculty 02/230 413-755-4130 brodgers@stcc.edu
Anthony Rondinelli Assistant Professor 02/229 413-755-4316 arondinelli@stcc.edu
Diane Sabato Associate Professor 02/229 413-755-4836 dsabato@stcc.edu
Paul Thornton Professor / Tri-Chair 02/213A 413-755-5223 pthornton@stcc.edu

 

Return to Academic Programs Return to: Academic Programs