Jul 21, 2018  
2015-16 Academic Catalog 
    
2015-16 Academic Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Energy Systems Technology - ENGY.AS


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Programs

Energy Systems Technology Video on YouTube

The Energy Systems Program is unique in the sense that it is the only such program offered on the East Coast. An up-to-date, extensive laboratory facility has been created which utilizes the latest in equipment and control devices.

Seniors who complete all course requirements are awarded the Associate in Science degree. They are given the opportunity to earn additional awards by taking the Oil Burner Technician and Stationary Fireman’s license examinations as directed by the Massachusetts Department of Public Safety, and the EPA Technician Certification. The Energy Systems graduate is well prepared to enter an industry that offers career positions as manufacturers’ representatives, service engineers, sales engineers, estimators, independent businessmen, lab technicians, and power plant operators.

Minimum Grade Requirement: Students must achieve a “D” as the minimum passing grade in all ‘ENGY’ series technical courses. A student must have earned a minimum QPA of 2.0 for graduation.

Programmatic Technical Standard (PDF)

Upon the successful completion of requirements for this program, the degree of Associate in Science in Energy Systems Technology will be awarded.

Energy Systems Technology Program Goals


  1. Have the fundamental understanding of Heating and Air Conditioning systems
  2. Have the capability to troubleshoot system problems.
  3. Understand the integration of computer controlled HVAC systems.
  4. Have gained the knowledge to properly design a heating system.
  5. Have developed a professional work ethic.
  6. Communicate effectively, both orally and in writing.
  7. Conduct research from a variety of sources.
  8. Are computer literate.

(ENGY.AS) Curriculum


Total (ENGY.AS) Curriculum Program Credits: 64


Note:


PHY 116 /PHY 116L  , Physics of Green Energy is recommended.

Department Personnel


Name Title Office Phone Email
Fahad Khan Assistant Professor/Program Chair 32/103 413-755-5308

FAKhan@stcc.edu

William Halloran Assistant Professor 32/103 413-755-5309 wthalloran@stcc.edu
Thomas Therrien Adjunct     twtherrien@stcc.edu
Ryan Snide Adjunct     rjsnide@stcc.edu
Bob Terenzi Adjunct     rterenzi@stcc.edu
Brad Boulanger Adjunct     btboulanger@stcc.edu
Andrew Durand Adjunct 17/106 413-755-4661 ajdurand@stcc.edu

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Programs