Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content
    Springfield Technical Community College
   
 
  Nov 19, 2017
 
 
    
2015-16 Academic Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Business - BUSN.AS


Return to Academic Programs Return to: Academic Programs

The General Business program allows students maximum flexibility in choosing Business Department electives in the areas of Accounting, Finance, Management and Marketing areas. The students receive a general overview and broad background in business subjects. This program may be preferred by those unable to decide on a major after completing the freshman core business program (described previously) or by those contemplating transfer to a four-year college who want the flexibility of choosing business electives for a particular institution.

Upon the successful completion of requirements for this program, the degree of Associate in Science in Business Administration will be awarded.

General Business Goals


Business Administration (General Business) major will produce graduates who:

  1. Have the skills needed to develop ideas and make decisions based on proper research, analysis, and critical thinking.
  2. Understand the environment in which businesses operate including the major economic factors, legal requirements, ethical, and social forces.
  3. Understand the key actions taken to effectively and efficiently utilize company resources to achieve goals.
  4. Understand the actions taken to acquire and retain customers; produce goods and services; and measure/track financial performance.
  5. Will take four business electives and acquire advanced knowledge in one or more of the following areas: accounting, finance, business law, marketing, and management.
  6. Communicate effectively, both orally and in writing.
  7. Conduct research from a variety of sources.
  8. Demonstrate computer literacy.

Core Business Curriculum


Total: 16 credits


Total Core Business Curriculum Program Credits: 32


Notes:


  1. Math Recommendation: Students are advised to take MAT-127  Calculus for Bus.
  2. Humanities electives include art, college theater, foreign languages, music, speech, philosophy, and literature. Social science electives include history, political science, sociology, psychology, and economics.

(BUSN.AS) Curriculum


Total: 15 credits


Total: 15 credits


Total (BUSN.AS) Curriculum Program Credits: 62


Note:


  1. Any 200 level Business Department course.

Department Personnel


Name Title Office Phone Email
Christine Atwater Assistant Professor 2/229 413-755-4602 cratwater@stcc.edu
Rhoda Belemjian Professor / Tri-Chair 02/233 413-755-5706 rbelemjian@stcc.edu
Ann Gervais Professor/Tri-Chair 02/232 413-755-5705 apgervais@stcc.edu
William Herd Adjunct Faculty 02/220 413-755-4066 bherd@stcc.edu
Gail Olmsted Professor 02/236 413-755-5751 golmsted@stcc.edu
Bob Rodgers Adjunct Faculty 02/230 413-755-4130 brodgers@stcc.edu
Anthony Rondinelli Assistant Professor 02/229 413-755-4316 arondinelli@stcc.edu
Diane Sabato Associate Professor 02/229 413-755-4836 dsabato@stcc.edu
Paul Thornton Professor / Tri-Chair 02/213A 413-755-5223 pthornton@stcc.edu

 

Return to Academic Programs Return to: Academic Programs