Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content
    Springfield Technical Community College
   
 
  Sep 26, 2017
 
 
    
2015-16 Academic Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Accounting - ACCT.AS


Return to Academic Programs Return to: Academic Programs

The demand for trained accountants has increased substantially with the growth and complexity of business and government. The modern accountant must have an appreciation of all aspects of business organizations as well as technical proficiency in the following accounting matters: maintaining accurate records, preparing and analyzing financial statements. This curriculum has been designed to help prepare the student to be that modern accountant. Manpower projections have typically shown that accountants are among those who are in high demand and well paid.

The Business Administration - Accounting major will produce graduates who:

  1. Have the skills needed to develop ideas and make decisions based on proper research, analysis, and critical thinking.
  2. Understand the environment in which businesses operate including the major economic factors, legal requirements, ethical, and social forces.
  3. Understand the key actions taken to effectively and efficiently utilize company resources to achieve goals.
  4. Understand the actions taken to acquire and retain customers; produce goods and services; and measure/track financial performance.
  5. Know how to prepare general-purpose financial statements using the FASB conceptual framework; prepare cost accounting analysis and apply these concepts to make management-level decisions within a company; understand the Federal Tax Code as it pertains to individuals; and, complete all steps in the accounting cycle using different computer software packages.
  6. Communicate effectively, both orally and in writing.
  7. Conduct research from a variety of sources.
  8. Demonstrate computer literacy.

Upon the successful completion of the requirements for this program, the degree of Associate in Science in Business Administration- Accounting will be awarded. 

Core Business Curriculum


Total: 16 credits


Total Core Business Curriculum Program Credits: 32


Notes:


  1. Math Recommendation: Students are advised to take MAT-127  Calculus for Bus.
  2. Humanities electives include art, college theater, foreign languages, music, speech, philosophy, and literature. Social science electives include history, political science, sociology, psychology, and economics.

(ACCT.AS) Curriculum


Total: 15 credits


Total (ACCT.AS) Curriculum Program Credits: 60


Notes:


3. Any 200 level business department elective will satisfy this requirement. Consult with your advisor.

Department Personnel


Name Title Office Phone Email
Christine Atwater Assistant Professor 2/229 413-755-4602 cratwater@stcc.edu
Rhoda Belemjian Professor / Tri-Chair 02/233 413-755-5706 rbelemjian@stcc.edu
Ann Gervais Professor/Tri-Chair 02/232 413-755-5705 apgervais@stcc.edu
William Herd Adjunct Faculty 02/220 413-755-4066 bherd@stcc.edu
Gail Olmsted Professor 02/236 413-755-5751 golmsted@stcc.edu
Bob Rodgers Adjunct Faculty 02/230 413-755-4130 brodgers@stcc.edu
Anthony Rondinelli Assistant Professor 02/229 413-755-4316 arondinelli@stcc.edu
Diane Sabato Associate Professor 02/229 413-755-4836 dsabato@stcc.edu
Paul Thornton Professor / Tri-Chair 02/213A 413-755-5223 pthornton@stcc.edu

 

Return to Academic Programs Return to: Academic Programs